The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), the EU’s securities markets regulator, has announced that it has appointed Anneli Tuominen, current ESMA Vice-Chair and Director-General at the FIN-FSA, to act as Interim Chair until the next Chair takes office.

This is effective from 1 April 2021.

Steven Maijoor’s second 5 year mandate as Chair came to an end on 31 March 2021. ESMA, in line with the ESMA Regulation, submitted on 26 November 2020 the shortlisted candidates for the position of Chair to the Council of the European Union to appoint the next Chair after confirmation by the European Parliament.

As was recently reported by FNG, Mr. Maijoor already revealed that he will join the Governing Board of De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) on April 1, 2021. In his new position as a member of DNB’s Governing Board he will be responsible for banking supervision. At DNB, Mr Maijoor will take over the responsibilities of Frank Elderson, who was appointed as a member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank (ECB) on December 15, 2020.