London Stock Exchange Group plc (LSEG) today announces that Tsega Gebreyes and Ashok Vaswani will join the Board as Independent Non-Executive Directors, effective 1 June 2021.

Tsega Gebreyes will join the Risk and Remuneration Committees and Ashok Vaswani the Audit and Risk Committees. They will both also join the Nomination Committee.

Don Robert, Chairman, London Stock Exchange Group, said:

“I am delighted to welcome Tsega and Ashok to the Board. Both bring deep financial services and commercial experience in senior roles world-wide, which will be of great benefit to the Group as we continue to develop our global business and capitalise on the digital transformation of financial markets infrastructure.”

Tsega Gebreyes is currently Founding Partner at Satya Capital LLP, an independent investment group focused on providing long-term growth capital. Prior to founding Satya Capital, she held a variety of senior roles at Zain Group, a leading mobile telecommunications provider in the Middle East and North Africa. She is currently Vice Chair and Chair of the Finance Committee at SES SA.

Ashok Vaswani is currently Chief Executive Officer, Global Consumer Banking & Payments at Barclays plc, where he has spent the last eleven years in a variety of CEO roles including as Chief Executive Officer for Barclays UK. Prior to this he was a Partner at Brysam Global Partners LLC and has also held a number of senior roles with Citigroup Inc.

Separately, Jacques Aigrain and Stephen O’Connor, Chair of the Remuneration Committee and Senior Independent Director (SID) respectively, will have served nine years on LSEG’s Board in 2022. It is proposed that Jacques Aigrain and Stephen O’Connor will step down before the AGM in 2022 and that Cressida Hogg will become Chair of the Remuneration Committee with effect from 22 October 2021 and SID when Stephen steps down from the Board.